GoogleTVForum.org is the largest Google TV/Android TV Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: slow Speed Test, but not my network?

Member #

slow Speed Test, but not my network?

Hi newbie here. I have a Sony TV for the last week and the internet streaming is totally choppy, so of course, I look at my network. From the settings area, I can see my wireless N network connection and it is listed at 130mbps.....so far so good. Now when I do a speedtest.net test I get 2mbps.

If I hook the TV via a wire, the same speed test with the same setting 1 minute later will result in 25mbps speed. Finally, my old laptop wirelessly connected also attains speeds in that 25mbps range.

Any ideas why the Sony would suck so bad in bandwidth?

Thanks in advance,

metrichead

Member #
    Quote Originally Posted by metrichead View Post
    Any ideas why the Sony would suck so bad in bandwidth?
    Hard to say why. There could be plethora of reasons why your wireless connection isn't up to par on your end. Here are my tested wireless connections. As you can see, my NSX-24GT1 is the fastest out of my four wireless devices. Btw, when you press on the seach button, there's a wireless symbol on the bottom middle beside the time. How many bars do you have? In my test below, I only have one bar.

Sony Google TV with 5Ghz Wireless N

Laptop with 2.4Ghz Wireless G

iPad with 5Ghz Wireless N

iPhone 3GS with 2.4Ghz Wireless G
    Last edited by eferz; 09-10-2011 at 12:50 AM.

Member #
    You get speedtest.net to work for you? Everytime I go there with the Sony TV it says I need the latest flash player.