Quantcast

Rovi guide wont load.

Discussion in 'Sony Internet TV' started by mike814, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. mike814

    mike814 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys I just got a sony 46in google tv. I have been eager to use the guide and I finally figured out how to set it up. It say will take 24 hrs to load the listings. A week later and it still isnt working it says can only update 48hrs of listings please change your settings. What settings am I supposed to change?? Not very clear hope to get this to work(directions suck on this tv!)
     
  2. eferz

    eferz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try performing a factory reset as described in this thread: "Guide" hasn't worked since oct. '11 update?
     
  3. mike814

    mike814 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried the factory reset with no luck. Still says about only being able to update 48hrs of listings.
     
  4. eferz

    eferz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine didn't work after a couple factory resets. However, a few days later they just magically appeared to work. I have no idea how that came to be.
     
  5. mike814

    mike814 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm ill have to keep trying. I have tv hooked up to my computer and its soo nice having a guide to look at to see whats on. I would be 100% happy with this tv if the guide would work
     
  6. abrcrmdl23

    abrcrmdl23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've found out that when i rescanned my channels it loaded them in the Rovi guide then the next day info showed up. That's all you have to do.

    Sent from my MoPho!
     
  7. MSPMP

    MSPMP New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've reset the guide. I've factory reset the TV. I've done everything but take it back to the store. With the ability to do Apps WHY doesn't it allow me to download the TV Guide App that I have on my Android phone???

    That would solve the ROVI guide never working.
     
  8. eferz

    eferz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Rovi guide is actually something outside of the Google TV offering. It's a Sony value add and not something that I would consider stable. If you read the past posts some times it just starts working for no reason. However, you should still be able to use the Sear ch button or the TV & Movies app to find shows regardless if the Rovi guide is working or not. They get their channel guide information from i.TV so the Rovi Guide isn't necessary for them to work.
     
  9. abrcrmdl23

    abrcrmdl23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like i said in the post above resetting the TV or the guide alone won't do anything to solve your problem you need to go into the menu off the TV too channels and reset three provider and then have the TV Rescan for channels using the auto scan change the guide from Rovi to network provided for a moment then change back to rovi before doing the channel scan and than should solve your problem.

    Sent from my MoPho!
     
  10. eferz

    eferz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You actually didn't write that, you're original post was much more vague and brief.

    Besides, your instructions seems like more like "voodoo" than science. I suspect that your Rovi Guide Data was updated updated coincidentally rather than incidental to your intervention. Especially, since I did not of that and a few days later my guide information was updated. So, I decided to do a little research and found out some related information from the Rovi support site. (Rovi - Consumer Electronic Guide Issues)

    It seems that the setting at Live TV > Guide > Settings > Guide Settings > Edit General Guide Settings > Update Listings Overnight: On/Off is a little counter-intuitive. Because if set it "On" and you watch television at night then you're most likely to miss the update cycle as described above. It is probably best to set it up according to when you expect the television to be off to catch one of update cycles.

    If you check: Live TV > Guide > Settings > Guide Information Screen then there's a few items you want to verify.
    • Setup Complete: This is the date that you completed the guide configuration. This is related to when you setup the guide configuration either through the new configuration wizard or manually through the GTV Settings > TV Sources > Edit Configured Devices > Built-in TV Tuner.
    • Setup Zipcode and Current Zipcode: This is the relative zipcode which bases your local provider and content.
    • Device 0, "RF Input": This is chosen lineup provider who's guide data will be downloaded.
    • Data Rx Method: This is the guide data reception method, "GP_DATA_RX_METHOD_TUNER" is received through OTA antenna.
    • Listings DL Comp: This is the last day and time the last guide data was fully downloaded. So, if you're guide data isn't current, you'll want to make sure that the television is powered off during that time. Note: all times are listed as UTC which is (GMT+0).
    It seems to me, my experience with the update closely matches the technical support pages. Sunday was the day I found the guide data updated. It happened to be the weekend which I spent mostly away from home. Therefore, I hadn't turned on the television for more than 36 hours after the factory reset which was performed on Wednesday. That's more likely why the Rovi Guide data finally got updated.
     
  11. abrcrmdl23

    abrcrmdl23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I might add i use an over the air antenna and no cable, so that may make a difference but when the guide won't load it doesn't show any of my channels. When you go to video inputs, built in tuner settings, channels, first change the Rocco guide off then back on, then i just redid the auto program, once that was complete the channels reappeared in the Rocco guide saying no info i did it on a monday night and i was up late till about 1:30 watching TV. In the morning info was in the guide, sorry if i sounded condescending and i guess my instructions were a bit vague. Also this probably only worlds like this with ota antenna and different with a cable box. Hope this is a little clearer and helps so people don't have to do a unnessisarry hard reset which is super annoying.

    Sent from my MoPho!
     
  12. eferz

    eferz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No worries, you're were trying to be helpful. I just wanted to clarify the situation because the issue is counter intuitive.

    Also, my NSX-24GT1 is also using a OTA antenna not a cable feed. My only cable feed is going into the Tivo Premiere in another room. I think perhaps your system caught one of the update cycles while it was offline. That's why it was quick to update. Where as in my case, my television remained for a great deal of the time since I performed a factory reset. I was helping a lot of people by trying to duplicate their symptoms. So, I left the television unattended and powered on most of that time during the week. After all, it does indicate the the television needs to be powered off to receive an guide update. Again, that being counter intuitive process to receive updates.
     
  13. mm9351

    mm9351 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem...the ROVI guide worked at first, now all I see is "no data." I don't want to do the factory reset because I will lose all downloaded apps. Some of these took a lot of time to setup, e.g. the IP camera app. Is there a way to "save" my current configuration including all apps to a flash drive so that they can be restored after the reset.

    Thanks in advance for your replies!
     
  14. eferz

    eferz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you check my post on the previous page? It explains the process which Rovi app uses to download the update. And explains what to look out for in the app. Factory resets has nothing to do with it.
     
  15. mm9351

    mm9351 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, thanks. I will wait overnight or 24 hours to see if this works. Thanks again for the advice / help.
     
  16. eferz

    eferz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're welcome. Glad to help. I hope it works out for you.
     
  17. mm9351

    mm9351 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still not working! :( I followed instructions to the letter and it's getting even worse, I now lost my icons in the guide e.g. cbs, nbc, etc. Yet everything else is perfect, the name of the show displays in the lower left hand corner. I downloaded TV Buddy and use that instead, but still miss the Guide functionality. And to think it worked the first day...it makes no sense. Any other ideas? Thanks...
     
  18. eferz

    eferz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What are the answers to these settings?

     
  19. neo11

    neo11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having problems with the Rovi guide as well. Newly purchased 40" Sony Google TV, set up the Rovi guide to pick up listings for the over-the-air stations that I will be viewing. Entered my correct zip code, selected "tuner" as the source of the channels I will be receiving, but more than a week later, no listings. Instead, I get the following message:

    "Your guide was not able to receive listings for more than 48 hours. Please go to the Settings area and change your settings."

    I've reset the guide a couple of times to no avail, and also did a factory reset of the TV, also to no avail. According to Rovi's website, over-the-air listings for my zip code (right in the heart of a major metropolitan area) are available. The wi-fi connection to my TV works without any issues so I doubt that's the problem, and the signal strength for the over-the-air stations that I am receiving is excellent...as high as 95/95, so the problem can't be a poor over-the-air signal either.

    I can't figure out what else I can try to do, and it seems from what other people have been posting that calling Sony and/or Rovi isn't likely to be helpful. Any thoughts?
     
  20. mm9351

    mm9351 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have formally issued a case number to Sony technical support on this issue. They initially advised me to wait a 'full' 24 hrs with the TV "off" (no cheating). I guess I didn't wait the full 24 hrs. and now I am waiting till tomorrow. I truly doubt this will make a difference. Yet others here were successful. I guess I need to be more patient.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

google tv rovi guide

,

google tv rovi guide not working

,

how to set the rovi tv guide

,

rovi guide not updating

,

sony google tv rovi guide