Quantcast

slow Speed Test, but not my network?

Discussion in 'Sony Internet TV' started by metrichead, Sep 9, 2011.

1. metrichead

metrichead New Member

Hi newbie here. I have a Sony TV for the last week and the internet streaming is totally choppy, so of course, I look at my network. From the settings area, I can see my wireless N network connection and it is listed at 130mbps.....so far so good. Now when I do a speedtest.net test I get 2mbps.

If I hook the TV via a wire, the same speed test with the same setting 1 minute later will result in 25mbps speed. Finally, my old laptop wirelessly connected also attains speeds in that 25mbps range.

Any ideas why the Sony would suck so bad in bandwidth?

Thanks in advance,

metrichead
  2. eferz

eferz New Member

Hard to say why. There could be plethora of reasons why your wireless connection isn't up to par on your end. Here are my tested wireless connections. As you can see, my NSX-24GT1 is the fastest out of my four wireless devices. Btw, when you press on the seach button, there's a wireless symbol on the bottom middle beside the time. How many bars do you have? In my test below, I only have one bar.

[​IMG] Sony Google TV with 5Ghz Wireless N

[​IMG] Laptop with 2.4Ghz Wireless G

[​IMG] iPad with 5Ghz Wireless N

[​IMG] iPhone 3GS with 2.4Ghz Wireless G
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2011
  3. chig

chig New Member

You get speedtest.net to work for you? Everytime I go there with the Sony TV it says I need the latest flash player.

And sorry I cant help with your speed issue, but are you saying the 25mbps is slower than what you expect since you mentioned 130mbps? Or is the 25mbps what you believe you should be getting while connected wirelessly? 1stly... damn! if you have a 130mbps internet connection then that is great, I don't even get 1/10th that. And more on point, is the TV far from the router? Cause distance usually affects connection speed.
  4. eferz

eferz New Member